The Maine Wood Carvers Association, a private non-profit organization is a system of local chapters dedicated to promoting and encouraging wood carving and creating interest and skills within the State of Maine and beyond. Established in 1984 as the Maine Wildlife Wood Carvers Association under the leadership of Phil Foster, the initial meetings were held monthly at the Student Center at the University of Maine at Farmington. A logo contest was held and Tom Foley's entry was chosen.The first issue of the Maine Carver was published on August 4, 1984 by Steve Gwazdosky. Jim Fawcett took over as editor shortly after that and continued for many years. The newsletter's masthead was designed by Betty Foley. The newsletter serves as a vehicle to communicate with our widespread membership.

Sharon Miller coordinated the First Annual Down East Wildlife Carving and Art Festival held at the Samoset Resort in Rockland on August 2 and 3, 1986. The show was an exhibition, display, and sale geared to the collector of Wildlife Art. The only contest at the show was a duck head challenge. Contestants picked up a sawn-out blank and registered at the MWWCA booth on Saturday morning. The finished head was turned in on Saturday evening. After judging and the presentation of ribbons, the top four heads were auctioned off on Sunday during a silent auction. It was not long before our membership was composed of talented carvers from just about every corner of Maine. In September of 1989 the by-laws were changed to include Chapters around the State. The Chapters were charged with being responsible for their own meetings and programs freeing the Board of Directors to focus on public relations, competitions, shows, fund raising activities, and broader educational programs. Early Chapters included the Pine State Wood Carvers in Farmington, The Lovell Chapter in Western Maine, the Waterville/Augusta Chapter in Winslow and the Southern Maine Chapter in South Portland. At the October 1994 Downeast Wood Carvers and Wildlife Art Show at Thompson's Green in Ogunquit, a carving competition was added to the exhibition. The competition included open, novice and youth divisions. There was no intermediate division. The open division had cash awards plus ribbons in most all classes. The novice and youth divisions had only ribbons and trophies.

On June 26, 1996 at the MWWCA Board of Director's Meeting it was agreed that a ballot referendum be presented to the membership to

change the name of MWWCA from Maine Wildlife Wood Carvers Association

to Maine Wood Carvers Association, because we realized we were no longer

just an organization of bird carvers. The ballot went out with the July 1, 1996 Maine Carver. Thirty-three percent of the membership responded and voted 30 to 3 to change the name.

                                                Past Presidents

2014 - 2018   Bob Grimm                Raymond
2014 - 2014   Robert Moreau         Livermore Falls
2011 - 2014   Norma L. Wing          Vienna
2010 - 2011   Charles  Friis              Poland Springs
2007 - 2010   Robert Perry              Sumner
2006 - 2007   David Brown             Waterville
2004 - 2006   Loyd Clark                  Windsor
2003 - 2004   Wayne Edmondson  Pittsfield
2001 - 2003   Richard Baldwin        Damariscotta
1999 - 2001   James Wade               Newcastle
1999 - 1999* George Gunning       Windsor
1996 - 1999   Wayne Edmondson  Bar Harbor
1993 - 1996   Erwin Flewelling        Lincolnville
1992 - 1993   Walt Simmons           Lincolnville Beach
1991 - 1992   Dick Young                 Belgrade Lakes
1990 - 1991   Lou Wilcox                  Belfast
1988 - 1990   Ed Beach                     Readfield
1986 - 1988   Warren Sivernail        Harrison
1985 - 1986   Richard Knotts           China
1984 - 1985   Tom Foley                   Oxford
* position held for 2 mos.
Founding Members
Member #1  Phil Foster                    Farmington
Member #2  Paul Beers                    Gardiner
Member #3  Gordon Harde             Sidney
Member #4  Betty Foley                   Oxford
Member #5  Tom Foley                    Oxford
Member #6  Dick Berry                    Skowhegan
Member #7  Ron Kostron                N. Vassalboro
Member #8   Mark Harde                Marlborough, NH
Member #9   Jim Fawcett                 Poland Springs
Member #10 Gary Poisson             East Holden
Member #11 Steve Gwazdosky      Waterville
Member #12  Fred Wingate            Hallowell
Member #13  Larry Chapman        Chesterville
Member #14  Richard Landry         Auburn
Member #15  Harold Hardy            Wilton
Member #16  R.J. LaVallee  
Member #17  Coyer Brown  
Member #18  Howard Hennigar    Vassalboro
Member #19  Bernard Wilkinson   Casco
Member #20  Jeff Rose                     Livermore Falls

Phil Foster